Do you live Frugally? Grocery Shopping

22 Sep

I have dabbled in a few things frugal, in cases like my homemade laundry detergent, or general house cleaners. I try to buy only what I need, use what I have. In today’s consumeristic society where every where we turn there is something being advertised to us that we just have to have.

*edit* I did forget to mention the dabbling in the homemade soap which was one of the best and worst ventures I’ve ever taken! 😉 Best cause we had luxuriously fabulous bars of soap for months after, that didn’t dry out our skin and were just soooo nice! Worst cause we did have a huge spill which we very cautiously thought oh crap this stuff is acid what to do what to do!

I studied marketing, and the pretense behind advertising is creating a need for something. Note well those words, a need. What is the difference between a need and want? A need is something you really do need, not just a consumer driven want, i.e. you need food, you don’t, however, need to eat brocolli, lettuce can be just fine. Then your choices become a little bit more want driven versus need driven. I want to eat chicken for dinner, though you can eat beans and rice with a salad and be more than satisfied. See what I’m getting at?

Everywhere we go there are choices and just hundreds at that! When I’m in the grocery I get a headache, I have pen and paper out, a calculator I’m looking at the bottle of liquid laundry detergent and working out $20 for 4liters ($5/liter) is definitely cheaper than pricesmart’s $40+($8+/liter) for 5liters. Then you see the huge can of diced tomatoes $31.99, and think that’s for a huge can versus $11.99 for the regular can at hilo, see where I’m going with this?

I’ve started keeping a ‘price book’ where I log these details, or as I said in my Home Management Binder post, lately I’ve kept the bill right up on the fridge for quick reference. The great thing about the price book is seeing a break down by actual quantity and price i.e. 500g 1g cost sort of break down.

I’m not brand specific, unless I taste something cheap that really does taste cheap, I’ve heard that ‘cuisine’ products taste cheap, I’ll pick up a can of the MP baked beans happily and they taste great, I hear the cuisine in comparison the baked beans are harder and aren’t as nice as the MP. In some cases good things can come in cheap packages but you have to learn by experience and make an effort to remember to not make the same mistake twice.

Pricesmart generally isn’t a great place to shop, you end up with 8 sticks of margarine, which if you’re me I’m not betty crocker, though I love baking I’m certainly not baking at that magnitude! I make spaghetti and meatsauce, however, at least once a week, it’s a favourite in this house, so buying a huge $31.99 6lb 6.5oz can of diced tomatoes that I can get probably 8 meals out of versus buying 8 cans at $11.99 ($95.92). See how being frugal can save you a lot of money if you are wary and paying attention to what you’re doing?

Are you frugal? I’m not the best, but I know I’m trying, especially with times being hard and saving that extra $1 is the difference between affording or not affording something.

3 Responses to “Do you live Frugally? Grocery Shopping”

  1. sarabayphotography September 22, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    When you say 'I have dabbled', I think you should acknowledge the people you involved in your DIY projects, especially the ones who risked life and limb helping you make soap only to have a pot explode in their kitchen, or the ones (maybe the same person/people:) who stored gallons of oil and raw materials for your hundred and one undertakings…just a thought :p

  2. Chaotic Mom September 22, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Ey… It was to your benefit as well! 😉 but yes to my readers, this did in fact happen! We used a pot that was too small and watched it bubble over and cover the entire stove. I do think that was the cleanest the stove and pot have ever looked in their life! I think we should revisit our soap making! 🙂

  3. Mrs.Israel September 22, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    ooo..Soap making sounds exciting!!!Where is that recipe? (is recipe the word to use?)

Leave a Reply

