My big empty space – Discovering minimalism

10 Mar

I find myself recently very drawn to everything minimalism. I spend a lot of time reading about the movement, and when I look at my space often feel very light at how much I’ve emptied the living room over the last few months to adapt a more open airy space.

Thankfully my beautiful wooden floors and 6′ x 4′ windows, which bring in lots of beautiful light all add to that open airy feel.

How does this impact me? I’d like to think I’ve become a lot more of a relaxed individual. For some reason when I sit in the space, though I still see things that need to be done, I don’t feel a weight on me the way I used to.

Everything about my being feels lighter as a result of looking at less and I have to tell you the feeling is amazing.

I made the living room into this big empty space before I even knew a thing about being minimalistic/clutter free/living with less. This was just something I did instinctively to create a more adult looking space and soon realized the benefits of the emptiness. Then came the finding of the minimalist movement.

Am I crazy? You probably think I am, but I can tell you, I haven’t felt more liberated in a LONG time! And I’m thankful for the breathing room! 🙂

Leave a Reply

