Sewing…

18 Mar

I think I’m reaching the point, where I have to admit that, I no matter how much I genuinely want to sew, just don’t have the time or the true will power to do it. 

I REALLY REALLY wanted to do a sewing course and for years I’ve kept telling myself that I’d learn properly, but it’s never happened! I did start one, but couldn’t complete it due to work commitments. 

Oh how I wish I did home economics in school, oh how far past that I am! Not exactly a situation where I can turn back, but I can say man do I regret not doing it because sewing is single handily one thing I wish over and over again that I did. 

I do know how to sew i.e. pull out the sewing machine and whip up some curtains/cushions, I even sewed my daughter a little jumper last year for Halloween, but other than that it just never happens.

It also stems from fear of pulling it out and dealing with my daughter standing there running away with my thread, stealing my seam ripper, or playing with the pins in the pin cushion… I have to say, impressingly  (so not a word), my daughter has been stealing my pin cushion since she could walk and she’s played with those pins more times than I can count, and can you believe she’s never stuck herself!? 

I hide that thing away from her all over, but that little monkey can get to anything! As someone pointed out, one day soon I may find her on top of the fridge… LOL

Maybe I’m just hashing out my thought process on this whole sewing thing, trying to somehow find the answer for myself, but I do know it hurts me that I don’t spend the time, nor do I have the place to invest in quality sewing time.

For those of you who do manage to sew, how to you balance it with the kids? Bearing in mind, staying up past 11pm just isn’t in my books and I try my best on an evening after the kids go to sleep to spend time with the husband and write my blog posts…

 

4 Responses to “Sewing…”

  1. easygoingorganizer March 18, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    I have the same issue. I have always wanted to sew . . . my mother is a wonderful seamstress and taught me the basics, but with kids and all the other things we do, it just never happens. 🙂

    • prettychaoticmom March 19, 2012 at 8:26 am #

      Exactly!! That is my exact problem! I learned from school though my mom can stitch a straight line, she’s actually never even shown me! Lol it’s sad though because I’d love to be able to pass this down to my daughter, but then you realize, hobbies are based on what you like, so though I may like sewing my daughter may not lol.
      I think I just have to start accepting that I really have no time to use my sewing machine, but that’s ok…

  2. skylarchastain March 18, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    Block half an hour of “Mom Time,” to be followed by kids time. Suggest they spend your time picking what best they want to do with you when Mom Time is done. I don’t have kids but this trick works on my husband (and let’s face it, they can be children).

    • prettychaoticmom March 19, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      I really wish it were that easy! But when your home and depending on the toddler, there’s just no escape for ‘mom’ time, especially in a 2 bedroom apartment, I’ve got no where to runaway, aka a craft room lol

      I’m just accepting that sewing is no longer an activity in my books 😦 soon I’ll say bye to the sewing machine too 😦

Leave a Reply

