Simple Living/Minimalism

23 Mar

As a result of my organizing missions, I’ve read and come across many many interesting suggestions and tips on organization, but I have to tell you nothing has hit home as much as simple living/minimalism has.

The movement’s definition is different for everyone, taken from wikipedia is this summary

“Adherents may choose simple living for a variety of personal reasons, such as spiritualityhealth, increase in “quality time” for family and friends, work–life balance, personal taste, frugality, or reducing personal ecological footprint and stress. Simple living can also be a reaction to materialism and conspicuous consumption. Some cite socio-political goals aligned with the anti-consumerist movement, including conservationdegrowthsocial justiceethnic diversity and sustainable development. ”

In the world we live in today, it’s honestly a refreshing twist and has instilled a sense of calm in me, of which I didn’t even think existed. As I look at my open empty space I’ve told you I feel free.

I spend time appreciating what’s before me, I spend time hugging and kissing everyone in my family, smiling, stressing less and just enjoying everything that life has to offer. For the first time I can say I’m living, and when I tell people I only have one life to live, I actually have follow through on those words, as I’m living the life I want to without the hustle and bustle and stress that accompanies what everyone thinks it should be.

I’m not keeping up with the joneses nor do I intend to. I intend to be me, not listen to what ‘they’ have to say and continue to spend my days with a sense of peacefulness, which I thought could only exist in books and movies.

I’m free… and happy… what’s stopping you?

Leave a Reply

